Things to eat that never should have gone away

January 5, 2010 at 11:33 pm 12 comments

Over the course of my life there have been various food products that I grew to love. Things I spent good money on. Things I supported with real cash. Things that aren’t made anymore. Dang it.

In no particular order, here is a list of things I really wish would come back.

1. Tuna Twist -

Let’s start with a biggie. Tuna Twist was a box of dried seasonings and veggies and who knows what that you would mix with a can of tuna and create the fastest serving of wonderful tuna salad you ever saw. “I’m Sir Celery. I’m Miss Parsley. We’re the Onion Twins. Oh, Tuna Twist, Tuna Twist, fresh from the garden.” You remember. It was thirty years ago but it was great.

2. Hillshire Farm’s Beef Hot Links (this one is so long gone I can’t even find a photo of it) – I know they still make the stuff, but they changed it. I used to be able to buy these hot links at a meat market in ten pound bags. You could grill these guys up and slap them in a bun and there was nothing better on Earth. Then they changed the recipe and now they are just OK. I have tried about a dozen hot links from other manufacturers and none of them are the same as the original Hillshire Farm’s version. I’m still pissed.

3. Roman Meal Honey Split Top Bread -

I live in Dallas and this is the greatest tasting bread ever and many years ago they stopped making it in our area. In fact they stopped making it in our state. Wait a minute, now they don’t make it anywhere. Dang it! This stuff was cut thick, slightly sweet, dense, and wonderful. Kelly introduced me to the stuff. As they say, first taste is free…

4. The Jack-in-the-Box Chicken Supreme Sandwich -

Man do I miss this guy. Deep fried chicken patty between two slices of cheese, slice of tomato, lettuce, mayo and a whole wheat bun. I once heard it said that the popularity of the Chicken Supreme sandwich was what saved Jack-in-the-Box from financial ruin in the 1980’s. I would buy one or two of these every time I left A&M to drive home. Nothing JB has ever made before or since beats it. The Jack Burrito almost made the list but it will have to wait for another day.

5. All the food joints at A&M that are now gone – This is a long list. From 1978 to 1982 we were blessed by the absence of big city chain restaurants who eventually showed up and drove all the local joints out of business. Places like Tinsleys (fantastic fried chicken), Peppers (amazing burgers and even better fries), Danvers (first burger joint where you could substitute a salad bar for fries), Youngbloods (home of the Aggie Special Chicken Friend Steak to die for), Farmer’s Market (lovely little sub shop right across the street from the campus), The Underground Burger (sold at the Sbisa Underground, which is still there but the burger isn’t). The Underground Burger was Beef, Canadian Bacon, Swiss Cheese, and heaven. The Commons Cafeteria (yes, this school cafeteria was amazing with all you can eat pizza, hamburgers, subs, and salad bar), and Fort Shiloh (western themed steak house with good steaks and a great salad bar). My wife and I ate our way through college here and all of them are now gone.

6. The Chili’s Terlingua Pride and the Rojo Burger – I know you can kind of make them if you try but why bother these days? The Terlingua Pride was a chili burger with tomato, lettuce, pickles and onions (both of which I left off) and mustard. I probably ate my body weight in those over a ten-year period starting in the late 1970’s. The Rojo Burger was a simple burger with BBQ sauce, lettuce, tomato and pickles. You now know what my wife and I ordered at Chili’s for about 15 years.

I’m pretty sure I could think of a few more and I may update this list at a later date but as for this is a good start.

Entry filed under: Stupid Stuff. Tags: .

Baked Lay’s = Big Macs I have to brag – Cameron’s Work Part 1

12 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Lori Baker  |  January 6, 2010 at 2:06 pm

    Ahh…but the Jack in the Box fried taco is still alive and killing us!

    Reply
  • 2. Cheney Coker  |  January 6, 2010 at 2:36 pm

    Too true and when you can buy 2 for 99 cents, it is killing us on the cheap.

    Reply
  • 3. Amber  |  March 7, 2010 at 5:53 am

    No kidding…what ever happened to dunk-a-roos? Honestly, it’s probably for the better they disappeared. My waist line benefits from the absence

    Reply
  • 4. gina D  |  April 17, 2011 at 8:40 am

    You have to be the only one so far as to have a picture of Tuna Twist. That was my favorite in the world. I was so devastated when it went of the market! I dont understand why Nabisco wont give us the recipe! Do you know how we can get it? I really wish Nabisco would bring it back. PLEASE!

    Reply
  • 5. John smith  |  May 13, 2012 at 10:58 am

    Let bring back jack n boxes chicken supreme

    Reply
  • 7. Guido  |  June 25, 2012 at 11:54 am

    I went looking for a Chicken Surpreme or the closest thing they had to it on Saturday night. The Chicken Club with Ranch Dressing was the closest and it was awful. The crummy little chicken patty looked like it came off the sandwich on their dollar menu. Small, overcooked, and dry as a dead carp… and it was over five bucks! Their onion rings now also suck. Don’t know why they changed. They had a decent menu once upon a time.

    Reply
  • 9. eb4supreme  |  October 2, 2012 at 10:20 pm

    There is no better food on the planet than the Jack in the Box Original Chicken Supreme…I believe it did save Jack from financial ruin in the early 80’s…This is the only product I have ever commented on ever on the web, and I hope I am part of the crew that rescues that awesome sandwich from extinction…Jack…please explain what happened to this unique chicken patty that can not be matched…I have kids who have never had the experience of tasting this sandwich…I am so sure they will get as hooked on it as I am that if I have the opportunity to drum up a demand for it, I am glad to be a part of the noise.

    Reply
  • 10. christina  |  March 20, 2013 at 12:17 pm

    ohhhhhh, i LOVED the chicken supreme sandwich!!! i remember i never had one before & i went with my grandma & grandpa to jack in the box to eat lunch. i didn’t know what to order, so my grandma told me the chicken supreme sandwich was really good. i gave it a try and watch my grandma salt her sandwich up so, i did the same & sprinkled salt on my chicken supreme sandwich too. one bite & i was HOOKED!!! it was the most delicious chicken sandwich i had ever tasted!!! from then on, that was what i would order everytime i went to jack in the box for the next several years.
    i recently went to jack in the box looking to see if i could remember what chicken sandwich it was that me & grandma used to order, but i couldn’t find it on the menu & didn’t quite remember the name, until now. i sure wish they would bring back that amazingly delicious chicken supreme sandwich!!!

    Reply
  • 12. Otis  |  October 14, 2014 at 6:43 pm

    Miss the Jack Burrito almost every day. Was living in a frat house (I’m female) at Stanford the summer of 1980. Took a large order and headed to a Jack-in-the-Box; ordered a goodly amount of Jack Burritos only to be told they no longer had them. “Fuck you, Jack.”

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 278 other followers

January 2010
M T W T F S S
    Feb »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Blog Stats

  • 8,646 hits

Pages


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 278 other followers

